In God She Trusts

A Testimony

Posted on: September 22, 2010


reblogged from aprilrodriguez.tumblr.com


Coming from a conservative and strict Filipino family, I initially did not have any support when I resigned from my University to pursue my dream as a dancer.  Throughout life, I acted rebelliously and disrespectfully against my parents, proved myself a bad role model to my younger siblings, and avoided God’s sovereign power over my life.  Why would they support the decisions of a selfish, wreckless, juvenile?  They did not support me… nor could they stop me.

“I’ll do whatever I want.  I don’t need you.”  Immediately packs her bags, leaves her family with her dog, and moves out of the house… with no money and no plan.

In time, I grew fatigued of myself and repetitive nights of aimless partying and cloud chasing.  I was addicted to wreckless fun.  I was a dreamer, but never took action.  I was broke.  I was losing sanity.  I was afraid for my life.  I’m not afraid to admit it, and you wouldn’t believe some of the things I’ve done.  Soon, I hit rock bottom until a new spirit had filled me.. came to me in the most vivid dreams, suddenly causing me to re-evaluate the most important things in life–respect to God and honor and love to my family, being at the top.

Gradually, I began to make ammends with my family and things began to look up.  Familial support of me was earned through evident accomplishments following years of hard work and attention to my obligations.  By now, I’m in love with my family and feel lucky to have them.

This has not been the easiest road–battling to gain support and respect… but that’s life.  I thank God for revealing himself to me, for granting me a passionate heart, and for blessing me with the spirit to accomplish the impossible, to survive through countless storms.  I’m thankful for my loving family–the whole De-Aquino Rodriguez/Bristol/De Vera clan.

I pray to stay directed by His will.

in God we trust
<33 apes x essence

1 Response to "A Testimony"

u r mi inspiration. i have been thru hell and still is going thru it. i constantly ask miself wth am i on this earth 4? i love dancing at the same tyme i sometymes figure is it wat he wants me 2 do? ugh this ish is killing me. one minute i am happy nxt i am sad. i feel bad 4 a lot of things i have done and dancing feels like the only way 2 hide hurt n pain. I am doing sexual sih 4 money. i feel bad about it though because i know its dead wrong and i know it is. a lot of gay ppl want me 2 do crazii ish 4 money n i fel like a hoe bt i dnt have sex wit then though its strange and i know u dnt know me at alll!! i just felt like pouring mi heart out 2 u 4 sum twisted odd reason. this spiritual journey is not easy at all. ts like win i try 2 live rite mi mind always says man fuk this lets go do something crazii n get money and its mesing me up but i feel like saatan is in control or something. i dnt kno

Leave a Reply

PROVERBS 31:10-31

You don't know me yet... but you will. - BZ

TOP POSTS

CATEGORIES

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

