In God She Trusts

How I Should Pray…

Posted on: November 27, 2009


Being out here in Switzerland, especially during Thanksgiving, has really given me the opportunity to reflect on myself… being alone.  I believe that everything happens for a reason, and for some reason, God did put me out here during this holiday and I think it was probably so that I am forced to spend time quietly to just listen and hear him.  Though I wasn’t able to experience a normal Thanskgiving holiday with my close family and friends, I am here in Switzerland, living an opportunity I never thought I’d have, and I can’t complain.  Thank God.

I realized in reflection that it’s been a long time since I’ve turned to God for direction.  I’ve realized that though I want many things in my life, I’ve forgotten what I should want first and foremost:

God, I pray that I do not lose sight of your will.  I believe you’ve given me the gift of dance to do good things.  I hope that in dance, I’ve inspired, I’ve touched lives, I’ve made connections to souls… These are good things for ME, but help me to move away from selfishness, and instead act towards completing YOUR will.  None of my work, past, present, or future means anything if not to glorify you, praise you, or be in your will.  It’s very hard on a second to second basis to resist temptation and keep focused on your will, but I don’t wan’t to be selsfish, as I owe you my entire being, body, and posessions.  I am weak, but I have faith in Jesus.  I act disobediently, but I remember Jesus and call upon you to fix me.  Please convict me of selfish intentions when I do things purely for me and out of your desires.  Nothing I accomplish is good without you and without your divine blessing.  I pray to see more of you, to grow stronger in faith, and to let the Holy Spirit living within me shine through, so that I may do good things in your name.

Matthew 5:14-16
“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Amen and God bless if y’know what I’m goin through.

ps.  God has created a beautiful world.  I don’t deserve it, but I thank him for the opportunity to see the world he created.  I pray for strength.. to remain in faith.. and to turn away from things I know I should.

in God we trust
<33 apes x essence

2 Responses to "How I Should Pray…"

this is amazing. i feel you 100%…as usual. thanks twin. love it

This nearly brought me to tears. Amen! This is a prayer of mine as well. I am about to enter into dance full time, and the goal of it is not to dance for selfish gain, but to use it to glorify Christ and tell the world about Him, as well as encouraging God’s people with the art. This was very encouraging: it’s so easy to exalt ourselves, especially in an gift that is so visual, but God is God and wants to be the one we use our gifts for. matthew 23:12 says “Whoever exalts himself shall be humbled; and whoever humbles himself shall be exalted.” I definitely believe that God gives us gifts to give back to Him by serving OTHERS, and not serving ourselves. The Bible constantly speaks against those who are proud, self-righteous,arrogant. God does not delight in those kind of people. Praying for you, sister, that God would continue to be your guide. That He will show you what is good in His eyes for you. And that He would continue to cultivate the gift He’s given you to use as worship to Him!

“Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” -Romans 12:1-2

In Christ alone,
TJ

Leave a Reply

PROVERBS 31:10-31

You don't know me yet... but you will. - BZ

TOP POSTS

CATEGORIES

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

