In God She Trusts

A Friend In Need

Posted on: July 14, 2009


FRIENDSHIP gives license to show up at the door of need without asking, “When would you like me to come?” or “What would you like me to do?”  Nor does friendship call out, “Just let me know if you need anything.”

Practiced friendship whispers, “I’ll be there” and promptly steps through the door with sensitivity, respect, and understanding.

But what about honoring the right to invite?  Those who wait for parchment invitations wait long, for need rarely throws  party — rarely even has a voice.

Yet need has its own needs.  It needs protection from strangers tromping in with work boots and good intentions.  And it needs relief from acquaintances wearing the spiked heels of advice and pat answers.

Needs waits with longing for the familiar entrance of dear ones who pad barefoot through the soul on ordinary days.

–Susan L Lenzkes

It’s normal to forget and to underestimate our worth to the people who value us as friends and family.  I came across this passage and it struck me, because it made me reflect on my relationships with the closest people in my life.  People who become so busy with life get caught up.  In the midst of busyness, I must confess… I’ve underestimated the worth of phone calls just to check up.  I’ve underestimated the worth of saying “bye” to friends at parties–people like to know when you’re leaving.  I’ve underestimated the worth of listening and not speaking.  I’ve underestimated the worth of doing something the other person likes to do.  As India Arie says, “It’s the little things.. and the joy they bring.”  God knows that I apologize for forgetting.

I recently celebrated my 24th birthday and it showed me that I am truly blessed to have such great people in my life.  That should not be taken for granted, ever. 

Proverbs 17:17 “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

in God we trust
<33 apes x essence

Leave a Reply

PROVERBS 31:10-31

You don't know me yet... but you will. - BZ

TOP POSTS

CATEGORIES

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

