In God She Trusts

Essence Mvmnt Workshop #2: Gettin bigger and better!!!

Posted on: August 10, 2008


Studio 429 was craaaackin yesterday.  A lot of people came… a lot of people challenged themselves and took all five classes.  What!??  Who does that?!  Dedicated people!  I love that.  Seeing people work hard gives me the energy and inspiration to keep pushin myself even harder.  Dope stuff.  Thank you to everyone who came for spending a day with us ladies and for being great students and sick dancers!  Thanks to 429 for being wonderful to us and for having us there.  Thank you to all the instructors for amazing classes!!!!  Thank you Kayce–even though you weren’t there, I missed you lots and really wished you were.  Knics, we missed you too girl!  Wished yall could see all the amazing students who took class!  Thank you Essence, for being the wonderful women you are–for challenging me daily through dance and through our struggles in life.  Thank you ladies for making my dreams come true!  Glad to be a part of this Mvmnt forreal.

Also, we were graced by the presence of the Philippine All Stars yesterday.  They asked us to be a part of a documentary and interviewed us about our life as struggling dancers.  It was pretty cool talking to them, because they’ve been interviewing dancers from other countries–a bunch of international teams are in SoCal because of the Hip Hop competition that just passed.  Dancers lead a pretty fun life haha… and it’s so crazy that we can all relate to each other on this common ground–struggling as artists and as athletes with the desire to express, become better than our present selves, and to hopefully leave an impressionable mark on those watching us.

“Would you take a financially satisfying 9-5 job over dancing… if dancing meant struggling for money for a while?”  Been there, done that.  Call me foolish, but I’ve got big dreams, and have come TOO FAR to give up on it now.  I’d take dancing over that kind of job any day.  God made each of us with unique desires and interests in our hearts.  Because of that, we need to listen to those desires.. we need to pay attention to what we’re good at.. where we’re effective… and folllow that route, because it’s probably the right one.  As long as my body’s willing, I’m gonna dance my heart out.  When I can’t dance anymore, at least I’ll be able to say that I don’t feel like I’ve wasted my talent at all.  Thank God for that.

Videos coming soon.  Essence Mvmnt:  2 down–a bajillion more to go.
Next stop:  The bay August 23rd @ City Dance!

in God we trust
<33 apes x essence

Leave a Reply

PROVERBS 31:10-31

You don't know me yet... but you will. - BZ

TOP POSTS

CATEGORIES

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

