In God She Trusts

Groove Camp, Norway – Round one

Posted on: August 5, 2008


So I never got to blog about my experience in Norway.  It was preeetty poppin.  When people ask me what it was like, I let em kno… It was a dream come true.  I was only there for 10 days–which was enough for me. I don’t get the opportunity to travel out of the country much–not at all, actually.  To be able to go to Norway, get paid to do what it is I absolutely LOVE to do, and to have my expenses paid for was a mind blowing experience.  I have my best friend to thank for it.  Thanks Gigi.  I love you gurl… don’t know where I would be without you.  You’ve opened up many doors for me.  

Also, I have these guys to thank…

Fao and Lars

They definitely treated me like a queen while I was out there.   Thanks boys =)  Jeg savner deg.  I picked up a little Norwegian!  Dope language.. definitely wanna keep learning it!

I was sick the whole time I was in Norway.  I was probably at my worst the day I arrived… gradually got better… then got sick again towards the end.  It’s my fault for wanting to go to an amusement park before I left, I guess.  Bad idea.  These boys are baaaaaaaaad….

At Tusenfryd aka A thousand joys <33

 Why would you do that to me?  Just cuz I’m a foreigner.. geez.  Conspirators… 


I ate a bunch while I was over there.  The food in Norway is different!  But it was still MUY delicioso!  No carne asada for Apes =(  I usually get carne asada if I visit a new city,  but that’s okay… I think I made it pretty clear to them that I could eat pho and chicken for days and be completely happy with my life.

I also visited this park–Frognerparken.  It has around 120 statues of naked people… which I thought was really interesting.  Naked people in ordinary stances… like a mother playing with her kid… or.. whatever..?  I was pretty shocked, and I wasn’t the only one.  Tourists were taking hellamadd pictures.  What shocked me more was that little kids were playing on the statues like it was nothing.  Nakedness aint a big deal in Europe I guess =P  After class, a bunch of us headed to the park and had a little picnic.  Fao grilled me some chicken, or “kylling” in Norwegian =)

 

giant thing….
 

… of nakedness…. 

 

streets of Oslo
 

Pretty cool huh?  We walked and took the bus or the train everywhere.  I tell’d them that not many people do that in LA.  The buildings in Oslo are really close together, so everything is within walking distance.  Also, they like to walk cuz it’s refreshing… heard that if they didn’t walk around to places, they’d feel like it was bad for them.  Big difference in SoCal.  I guess we here are just madd lazy… too used to sitting on our butts… or maybe it’s just me. haha.

brought the Other Duck w/ me

Classes were amazing.  Groove Camp lasted an entire week–4 classes a day.  I taught 12 total in the 10 days I was there.  The people who showed up were so eager to learn and listen.  They were so receptive to anything that I had to say, it was really an amazing opportunity for me to be able to share what I’ve learned and what I love to a good group of students.  A lot of people lived in other places… they traveled by plane or train to stay in Oslo for a week just to dance.  They learned quickly, asked a lot of questions, paid close attention, worked hard… I loved it!!  I don’t have a lot of footage.. I do have one… hoping to get more later.

Other cool things in Norway:  
– Opera house
– hot dogs @ 7-11
– refrigerator full of Corona.. I probably touched one.
– drunkenness at Fao’s birthday.
– stranded at the sushi restaurant
– evening for only 3 hours 

Overall, Norway was a dope experience.  I had a great time with Mari and the Norwegians =)  We celebrated Fao’s birthday and everyone sang Happy Birthday to me at the end of the week.  It’s unreal.. being in another country made me feel like such an alien.  It just opened my eyes to a bigger world y’kno.  America aint all that’s out there… We know that, but we don’t KNOW that.  Get me?  I love how traveling can make somebody feel like a different person.  There’s so much we could learn from being in unfamiliar places–we gotta hold on to those lessons.  They’re pretty important… life-changing.. builds tolerance and understanding, I feel.  I made some pretty dope friends over there.  Definitely would enjoy another round.

in God we trust
<33 apes x essence

Leave a Reply

PROVERBS 31:10-31

You don't know me yet... but you will. - BZ

TOP POSTS

CATEGORIES

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

